See our upcoming events for 2024! Click here

1. Introduction

SME Accreditation

1. SME Accreditation Introduction

Section Contents

This section contains information about SME Accreditation, covering the overall proposition, suitability, the accrediting process, fees and how to apply. Click in the section contents box to the right to access specific topics.

Overall Proposition

An SME organisation’s lean training can become accredited so that learners who successfully complete its programmes receive Certificates of Lean Competency at particular levels. The accrediting process ensures the training system is fit for purpose and aligned to the LCS levels and involved an in-depth scrutiny of all its components. As an Accredited Certifier of Lean Competency, the organisation is licenced for 2 years (renewable) to use the LCS.

An ‘SME organisation’ could be a company with its own CI training capability or a consultancy with a training capability for its clients’ staff or for the general public.

Click Download for the PDF brochure: How to become an LCS accredited organisation


Who Should Apply?

A company may wish to consider SME lean accreditation if:

  • It is a small training company with limited resources.
  • It is a start-up training company that has not yet established itself.
  • It delivers small scale lean training on an infrequent basis.
  • It is a small company that wants to deliver its own bespoke training to staff on an infrequent basis.

SME v Standard Accreditation

The main differences are:

  • Knowledge test assessments are not carried out by an SME lean accredited company, but by the LCS centrally.
  • With SME accreditation, Certificates of Lean Competency are produced and distributed by the LCS centrally.
  • SME lean accreditation has a lower accreditation licence fee and pays the LCS for testing and certification on a per unit basis.

Larger organisations may want to consider Standard Accreditation as an alternative to SME. Check out the diverse list of organisations that have become LCS accredited.

LCS Customers

Accrediting to Specific Levels

An organisation can choose to align its training to any combination of LCS levels and can add more levels to its licence at any point at no extra cost.

For example, it may decide to start with just Level 1a and then add Level 1b and/or 1c at a future point when its capability has developed and the demand from its organisation or customers dictates.