See our upcoming events for 2024! Click here

LCS Information

Resources for Accredited Organisations

LCS Information

This page contains background information about the LCS – its qualifications framework, its origins, its customers

LCS Qualifications Framework

Each of the Seven Levels of Lean Competency are described, along with key features, underlying philosophy and comparison with Lean Six Sigma belts.

LCS framework

Level Descriptors

These lie at the core of the LCS qualification framework and describe what an individual should know and be able to do for each LCS level. Click the button to download a PDF of all descriptors.

Descriptors pdf

LCS Background & Development

Find out about the origins of the LCS – including its purpose, approach to lean thinking and ‘disruptor’ accreditation philosophy.



The LCS was created by the Lean Enterprise Research Centre (LERC) and continues to be linked to LERC research activities.


Who is accredited?

You can find out about the global reach of the LCS and which organisations are currently accredited by visiting the LCS customers page.